Writing Wednesday 2: No Place Like Home

Hello, my darlings! I know. It’s been far too long since you’ve heard from me, but have no fear because I’m baaaack! When I made my last post, it was New Years Eve. It’s hard to believe that we’re nearing the END of February. Where has the time gone?

Well I don’t know about y’all, but 2016 has been a HECTIC year for me already, and we’re not even halfway through it. Why, you might ask?

Picture this. You’re standing in your living room, conversing with two of your sisters and holding your 16 month old nephew while your mom is in the kitchen, preparing dinner, and your father is in the bedroom, lying down after being at dialysis for four hours. Then, during the bad weather, lightening strikes, shakes your home, and a tree falls through the roof of your kitchen.

That happened to my family and me almost five weeks ago. We were displaced for four weeks. Since then, we’ve moved back home, but things are still a work in progress. My oldest sister and her family accepted us into their homes with open arms, and I’m forever grateful.

In other news, I’ve met someone new, and I think I’m in love! And by someone new, I mean I have a new story in my  life. Its title is “Every Breath I Take”, and I’ve been plotting for a few weeks now. I don’t want to give too much of the plot away, but the main character is a cancer patient.

At first I was hesitant to write this story because I don’t want to be known as the author whose main characters are always ill. I also felt like the cancer story has been told so many times. However, I realize that no one is going to be able to tell this story like I will. Because after all, only you can tell your story.

I’m hoping that Every Breath I Take will be the story that not only brings awareness to ovarian cancer, but gives cancer patience hope. Hope that everything will eventually be okay because I honestly believe that one day, there will be a cure for cancer. We just need to keep doing our part by bringing awareness to it.

ovarian-cancer

Leave a Reply

