Writing Wednesday 3: Awareness

Good morning, lovelies! I hope you all had a fantabulous weekend. Since today is Wednesday, I’m back with another segment of Writing Wednesday!

Although today is Writing Wednesday, I wanted to take this time to discuss why the month of March is my most favorite time of the year. And I can assure you it has nothing to do with Easter candy and everything to do with being a part of something bigger.

As you all know (because I never shut up about it), almost five years ago my dad was diagnosed with renal failure. As you get older, there are certain memories that are forever etched in your brain. For me, it’s when my dad was diagnosed with renal failure.

kidney-ribbon

In my eyes, my father has done an amazing job with sticking to his proper diet, monitoring his intake of liquids, and going to dialysis for four hours every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday mornings.

But now, it’s time for me to do my part. It’s time for me to bring awareness to kidney disease. Back in December, I teamed up with Kidney Nation to raise $2000 for kidney patients in honor of my dad.

While raising the $2000 would be a tremendous help to kidney patients all over the world, it’s also important to spread awareness by word of mouth. Think of how many lives we could save. Thirty one million Americans and their families are affected by this disease, and we can help lessen that number.

So starting today, for the month of March, I will be sharing helpful tips, as well as facts about kidney disease.

HELPFUL TIP #1:  Be sure to drink an adequate amount of water and limit sodas. BUT, for all of you dialysis patients out there, try to limit your fluid intake so you won’t have to have a ton of fluid pulled off of you during dialysis. Thirsty, but worried about your fluid intake? Try eating ice chips, or spritzing your mouth with a spray bottle!

To donate or learn more about Kidney Nation, click here to visit my fundraiser page.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

