We Love Books Wednesday 4: Sliding into Love

Good morning, lovelies. Today’s We Love Books Wednesday is going to be a little different. I’m not highlighting an author or their novels, instead, I’m talking about my novel, Sliding into Love, and the man behind it. My novel is still a work in progress, but it doesn’t stop me from talking about it, or my reason for writing it. Five years ago, my father was diagnosed with Kidney Disease. Five years ago, I got an amazing idea in the form of a story idea to bring awareness to this disease. Kidney failure has ran in my paternal family for years, and I thought Sliding into Love would be an amazing way to show it. I’m not embarrassed that this disease runs in my family. In fact, I’m proud of it because it’s a part of me and my family. Kidney disease has made me aware of my health. Because of this disease, I know the signs and symptoms. I know to keep my sodium intake to a minimal level. I know the importance of drinking lots of water or increasing the protein in my diet. Speaking of increased protein, the man behind my novel, has reached his protein goal. After five long years of his protein going up and down, my father has finally gotten his protein to 4.0, which is a good thing. We’ve waited so long for this moment, so I couldn’t wait to share the news with you guys. Pictured below is the man, the myth, the legend; my father, in his Al Bumin shirt!

As always, please click here to learn about ways to help and donate to the many Americans whose lives have been impacted by kidney disease.

IMG_7761

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “We Love Books Wednesday 4: Sliding into Love

  1. OangeRenee says:

    I am SO proud of this man! He has been doing so good with everything–especially since it just him all of a sudden; he adjusted wonderfully. I’m also very proud of us (his lovely children). And don’t even mention the wonderwoman that he’s married to! She has been amazing through it all. You have been doing great with educating yourself about this disease & bringing awareness to it also. So thank you & beautiful job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

